[Just a little bit of] my reading history…

Happy world book day everyone 🙂 (Opps… a little bit late)

photo6339284979602794453
So, how is it? How many books you already read this month?
I am the one who believe that you don’t need to be hurry in reading, the most important thing from reading is you can contemplate what the writer wants to deliver. Reading is not a competition, you no need to hurry for that. Read is feed for your brain, and as we do a “right and healthy eating“, we never eat in hurry and we eat from varied sources.
You may love fiction books, but read non-fiction as another “multi-vitamins” for your brain. You may rarely read fiction, but read it sometimes to let your brain relax and have another kind of entertainment, just like us who really love to eat chocolate and ice creams sometimes.

But, well… just like foods, we might also have some books we really don’t like. I don’t like young adult genre just the way I hate banana (yes, I don’t like banana). But, hmmm… I still eat banana in some case. However, not kind of fruits I will buy often. I read young adult and romance genre when they have very unique and special story, but well I rarely choose it by default.

People always ask me why I keep reading books, and spend a lot of money for those. Personally, books are my first friends… along with cats. I don’t have lots of friends since I was kids, and while my family are really love to read, and they gave me books. I sleep with my books and cats. When I am alone, books accompany me, and help me to create my own world.

My family also not such a rich family, and another sad fact is I was living in such a remote village when I was kid. we can’t travel far… Books helped me to see the world outside my home windows.  I even read my grandfather’s Encyclopedia Americana although I didn’t understand English. My Dad gave me some comics, then along with my reading ability increased he bought me a novel by Alan Lightman: Einstein’s Dream. My mom told me that the outside world is full with adventures and quite tough… the she introduce me with all Detective Novels like Sherlock Holmes and bought me all series of Agatha Cristie’s Novel. She also introduced me with Winnetou and Kara ben Nemsi by Karl May.

img25

But did reading always give a good experience for me? Not really… at least in Indonesia.
People kept thinking that I am such a weird person. I remember once, people in my classroom laughing so hard to me because I told them, in front of everyone, that formerly toothpaste was made by using urine. Then people said I am stupid, just because I read something that no one in that classroom ever read.

I also remember, in a class, the teacher asked all students to mention any terms in music and art. I remember I raised my hand and answered “SONNET”, and everybody again…again… and again laughing on me. They said I am very “dangdut” person, because in Indonesia there is a Dangdut Band “Soneta Group” which lead by the King of Dangdut in Indonesia: Rhoma Irama. No one in that class ever read that “sonnet” itself means a kind of poem.

Books is my best friends, read is my hobby… but in the same time it is also make me looks strange sometimes.

Am I mad with that? Yes! At first…
Because it was hard to look and sounds “stupid” while you believe that you are right.
But then I realize that in my country, where reading is not such a national hobby, it is very hard to find a good book. The themes… the genre…. everything are so limited. In my village, when I was kid, if I want to read something we should wait second-hand books from the schools in the town. Lucky me because my parent routinely bring me to the bookstores in the town, at least once a month.

Not like Japan or China for example, they translate almost all great literature from all around the world to their language. In my country, yes… of course there are several translation of worldwide books, but not much.
We still have limited non-fiction books…
limited books for kids….
Everything!

And like the vicious circle, because of limited good books, limited good readers, then there are also limited good writers.
If teenlit is become a trend this month, then everyone will write teenlit.
If a handsome vampire is a trend, then everyone will write about the vampire.
If a romance is the trend, then everyone write about romance.
So, if our taste is far away from the recent trend, then it will be very hard to find an alternative for us to read.

In this opportunity, I wish for nothing except I hope the literacy awareness in my home country can be increase.
I hope people start to realize that, reading is cheaper way to travel around the world.
This year, I think I am already read much classics so my reading target I want to read books from all around the world. Finally in the end of my PhD study, I want to go travel and visit the place from my favorite books 🙂

I think it is kind of motivation also for me ^O^b don’t you think so?

(sstt… a bit of my want-to-read list)

index

Leave a Reply

