Time to learn from the trees: A little review of “The Hidden Life of Trees”

I am sick with all of my social media, so I uninstall some except my instagram (because I love photography), twitter (because it just short and and Linkedn (because some news and information are great there), and I also leave my cellphone off since this week. I want to detox my life from any kind of negativity and hoax! I am not sure whether I am not good with human or I just sociopath. But, seriously… I am tired and what I really want to do is refresh my mind with positive vibes around.

Then I got a very beautiful book: The Hidden Life of Trees
My first impression when I open this book is it is like “Pocahontas” soundtrack

“But I know every rock and tree and creature
Has a life, has a spirit, has a name”
– Color of the wind-

Yes… now we can sure than even tree also has a life, spirit, and name at least after you read the book.

tree

From this book, we can learn how the tree can cooperate each other, for example the have a specific and special root system and network to “holding” each other in such steep land in order to protect each other from landslide.

They also have their specific mechanism to protect their body and seed from any kind of weather and harsh condition. The way they adapt with the environment also always impressive. We also will notice how they communicate each other and also how the way they nurture their “kids”.

In my opinion, Peter (the writer of this book), deliver some simple and basic information and knowledge about tree in such a philosophical way. For me, it makes me to be a better person after I read this one. I mean, if tree can communicate well each other, help each other, taking care of each other, than by logic we…. human beings can do better!

It is sad for me while we human, sometimes, rather than taking care our environment we broke it… broke it and over-utilize it… and have no time to learn from it. Then, because of lack of contemplation we even hurt between each other. Oh come on! How can trees beat us in character.

Every time I read books about nature and environment, I am thinking of my self… do I really already do a good thing and right thing to my surrounding. My tongue! Oh sometimes it has its specific “venom” and I might hurt between each other.
As an “environmentalist”, I sometimes get crazy by my own research.
While outside there, even trees and plants are try their best to run their role as one of God’s great creatures.

Well! I will take care of you planet! for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

