A story behind the foods: Mom’s love

Recently I interested in foods sustainability, and if you follow my instagram account, I also do a little campaign about sustainable meal which become one of FAO campaign this year. I also share my hobby in gardening.  I also share some books and literature about which books you can read if you interested by local foods. People said that you haven’t officially learn about food science if you haven’t read Michael Pollan’s books, so I complete my library collection with all of his books.

DSC_1025

I even cook! And share the photo to my friend on instagram. I just hate facebook and other social media, so I choose instagram as my fave media. I don’t really like cooking but I am living far away from everywhere! so, I cook. And I challenge myself to use local ingredients around me, and I make a small garden for several vegetables and herbs in order to boost my organic and low carbon veggies. And… I love it!

DSC_0025

If you already friend with me for quite a long time, you will know that I do a research about agriculture. I also food lover… one thing that I really hate is people who leave their foods… and sayin’ “Owch I am on diet” ARGHHHHHHHHHHH…..
you should know that on farm work is nothing but very complicated and tiring works.

From all the books, I learn how to find and choose the best ingredient…
I find how to reduce food waste…
I learn how to cook everything in a good well…
My cooking skill, not to be big headed, is increasing.
But no matter how good the ingredients, no matter how much my progress in cooking, I never be able to duplicate my mom’s foods. You can replicate every recipe, but never your mom’s love.

Every time I cook something, and eat them… enjoy them…. I wondering about what my mom already done for me and a whole family. Choosing the best nutritional intake for her child. She should make sure it is both sufficient both in quantity and quality. Choosing is easy if you have everything, but if we are in lower-middle income condition then we will face financial constraint. So, I wondering… my mom (and I believe, our mom) is not only a good chef, but also a potential financial planner and manager.

Then for me, talking about food now is more philosophical than before. It is not only about the hard work of the farmers, not only about the emission path,not only about how far the foods were transported until reach our dining table, not about awesome research written by Pollan and any other awesome writer and researcher, but also about how great our mom is, how great she is to provide the best thing for us.
Food is another tiny yet precious story about the struggle of a mother.

I wondering, if I never have a good mom like my mom… maybe there will be no today’s me. I remember, when my mom got sick, I become easily to get sick. I have a little problem with my liver and it was because I have no idea how to cook well when my mom was in the hospital. I will become nothing without her.

People said, never tell about your dreams to other people. But well, may I share a bit? Far away from home make me miss my mom so much, and I promise I will cook for her every time I am back home. Later, when I am lucky enough to have my own child… I also will cook for them, and that’s because some love no needs any words.

Leave a Reply

